Student Awards

Margaret Clark Award

MClarkAAGE invites graduate and undergraduate students to submit papers of interest to anthropology and gerontology to compete for the Margaret Clark Award. This award supports the continued pursuit of work following the example of Margaret Clark, a pioneer in the multidisciplinary study of sociocultural gerontology and medical anthropology, and a scholar committed to mentoring younger colleagues.

Winning papers will be acknowledged at the American Anthropological Association annual meeting and will be given the right of first refusal by Anthropology & Aging. Winners will also receive a free membership to AAGE. Winning papers will receive $300, and the jurors may select papers for Honorable Mention with a free AAGE year membership. Abstracts of the winning manuscripts and honorable mentions will also be published on the AAGE website.

2023 Winners: Alexa Carson (University of Toronto), graduate award winner; Madeline Anderson (University of Toronto), undergraduate award winner

2022 Winners: Ida Marie Lind Glavind (University of Copenhagen); Honorable Mention, Yu-Ri Kim (Vanderbilt University)

2021 Winners: Chloë Place (University of Sussex); Honorable Mention, Harmandeep Gill (Aarhus University)

2020 Winners: Francesco Diodati (University Milan Biccoca); Yan Zhang (Case Western University)

2019 Winners: Yifan Wang (Rice University); Olivia Brophy (St. Mary’s College of California)

2018 Winners: Rose Keimig (Yale University); Olivia Silva, co-authors Ariel Cascio and Eric Racine (McGill Univeristy)

[No awards were made from 2015-2017 due to restrictions related to renewal of non-profit status]

For a list of all past winners (1993-2019) see our list here.

Jacob Climo Award

The Jacob Climo Award supports student travel costs up to $300 for conferences in which AAGE is active or where issues central to AAGE are discussed, such as at the Annual Meeting of the American Anthropological Association the Gerontological Society of America Scientific Meeting, or the Society for Applied Anthropology meeting.

The Jacob Climo Award honors the scholarship and mentoring of AAGE past-president Jacob Climo, whose research focused on intergenerational relationships, the ethnography of memory, aging and elder care around the world, grandparents parenting grandchildren, and narratives about aging parents. Priority will given to applicants who focus on these topics.

The 2024 award winners are Jessica Bytautas and Sheridan Conty. Please see the announcement here.

Scroll to Top