AAGE is a 501c3 registered nonprofit organization operating under AAGE bylaws.

Presidents are elected every two years, and serve one year as President-Elect, two years in office, and one year as Immediate Past President. The official transfer traditionally takes place at the annual business meeting at the meeting of the American Anthropological Association or the Gerontological Society of America (November). Scroll down to see a list of all Past Presidents of AAGE.

Current Executive Committee Members

Cati Coe, President (2022-2024)

Cati is currently Professor of Political Science and Canada Research Chair in Migration and Care (Tier 1) at Carleton University, in Ottawa, Ontario. She has come to the study of aging through her research on transnational families from Ghana, initially focused on the fostering of children of migrants and distributed parenting, practices re-invigorated with migration. Because so many of the parents in these families worked as nursing assistants and home care workers in the United States, her next study focused on elder care (New American Servitude: Political Belonging among African Immigrant Home Care Workers, 2019). At the same time, she became interested in changes in aging and care in Ghana (Changes in Care: Aging, Migration, and Social Class, 2021). She is currently beginning a new research project on return migration decision-making among older Ghanaians in Canada.


Aaron SeamanAaron Seaman, Past President (2022-2023)

Aaron is currently an Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa. He received his PhD from the University of Chicago’s Department of Comparative Human Development and his MA in health communication from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Aaron’s research focuses sits at the intersection of health and medicine, kinship, and aging, as he seeks to understand the ways that ideas of health, illness, and social relations shape how people care for each other across their lives. In addition to his work with AAGE, he is part of the editorial collaborative for Somatosphere (somatosphere.net), where he also was the In the Journals editor for six years.


Photo of Erika CarrilloErika Carrillo, Secretary (2022-2023)


Erika is a Assistant Professor at San Jose State University. Her dissertation research is in San Francisco, California among aging Latinos and their families. Her project examines the everyday ethics and moral decision making involved in care for older people and the socio-materiality of food in care relationships. The project examines how people who provide care define and negotiate what qualifies as “good” care for older adults in a rapidly changing urban landscape.



Jean Schensul, Treasurer (2013-2023)

Dr. Jean Schensul is founder (1987-2004) and currently senior scientist full time, at The Institute for Community Research, an independent research institute conducting prevention research in communities in the United States, India and China, and based in Hartford, CT. She is a medical anthropologist with three decades of experience in the conduct of HIV prevention and other health-related research in urban areas of the United States and in developing countries. Her publications include The Ethnographer’s Toolkit 2nd Ed. (Rowman and Littlefield 2016) and “Methods in Applied Anthropology” (Trotter, Schensul, and Kostick) in the Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology (Bernard and Gravlee, Eds. Rowman and Littlefield 2014).  Dr. Schensul is, past president of the Society for Applied Anthropology and the Council on Educational Anthropology, an organizational member of the American Anthropological Association, as well as other elected and appointed positions in the American Anthropological Association.

Anthropology and Aging, Co-Editor-in-Chiefs
Amy Clotworthy (2021-2024)

Amy holds a Ph.D. in ethnology and a Master’s degree in applied cultural analysis, both from the University of Copenhagen. In her current position as assistant professor at the Department of Public Health and the interdisciplinary Center for Healthy Aging (CEHA), she teaches and conducts research on how health and social policies targeting older people influence the sociocultural dynamics of later life. With an emphasis on everyday health practices, her research also investigates how the Danish healthcare sector, hospitals, and municipal authorities can improve professional practices by recognising the complexity of older people’s life histories as well as the individual needs and priorities they express in their personal narratives.

Tannistha Samanta (2021-2024)

Tannistha is currently an Associate Professor with the Department of Sociology at FLAME University, Pune, India. She received her Masters and PhD from the Department of Sociology, University of Maryland, College Park.  Broadly, her research lies at the interdisciplinary crossroads of family sociology and gerontology where she focuses on living arrangements, social capital & health, older adult sexualities and theory development in aging studies. In another line of inquiry, she is interested in examining the complex nexus of motherhood, sexual politics and the biomedical markets. Her work on aging has been funded by research grants from the United Nations Population Fund, Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), Centre for Gender Equity & Health (University of San Diego), Population Foundation of India and very recently, the University of Haifa (Israel).



Headshot photograph of Brooke Jespersen

Student Member Liaison
Brooke Jespersen

Brooke is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Anthropology at Case Western Reserve University, specializing in the study of aging and migration. Her dissertation research examines how im/mobility regimes—or power structures enabling, promoting, and restricting migration—relate to older Puerto Rican adults’ conceptualizations, pursuits, and experiences of “good” lives in old age. Brooke’s previous work broadly examines inequality throughout the life course. She has published on intergenerational relationships, child well-being, and child maltreatment.

Board of Directors

Role of Board of Directors

  1. Jason Danely (November 2021-November 2024)
  2. Lori Jervis (November 2021-November 2025)
  3. Philip Kao (November 2021-November 2026)


Past Presidents of AAGE 1979-2020

Christine L. Fry 1979-1981
Jay Sokolovsky 1981-1983
Linda Cool 1983
Anthony Glascock 1984
J. Kevin Eckert 1985
Dena Shenk 1986
Doris Francis 1987
Robert L. Rubinstein 1988
Maria Vesperi 1989
Marjorie M. Schweitzer 1990
Linda S. Mitteness 1991
Mark R. Luborsky 1992
Otto Von Mering 1993
Phil Stafford 1994
Jacob Climo 1995
Neil Henderson 1996
Maria Cattel 1997-1998
Madelyn Iris 1999
Judith Barker 2000-2001
Gillian Ice 2002-2003
Margaret (Peggy) Perkinson 2004-2005
John Traphagan 2006
Bob Schrauf 2007-2008
Sherylyn Briller 2009-2010
Lori Jervis 2011-2012
Samantha Solimeo 2013-2014
Iveris Martinez 2015-2016
Jason Danely 2017-2018
Janelle Taylor 2019-2020


Return to AAGE home